foriero

Hi, we are building with latest runtime for WSA and get error bellow. Any idea why it does not work? Is there fix on the way?

Script Error (Skeleton Animation) : Update() Can not take parameter

Thanks, Marek.
foriero
Posts: 165

Pharan

That's weird. Sounds like a bug in the WSA platform. I guess it somehow doesn't handle overloads?
That doesn't make sense since it should be "purer" .NET compared to the other platforms.

Which runtime/backend did you use for your WSA build settings?

My guess is that this can easily be worked around by replacing the name of the method (and obviously replacing all references to that Update(float) to the new name.
It's safe within a project, but we couldn't do that on the official runtime just willy nilly.
Official Esoteric Assorted Furniture Cleaner and Teahouse | Check out the Spine Users Tumblr Blog: spine-users.tumblr.com
pharan.deviantart.com | pharantriestoanimatestuff.tumblr.com - - - Windows 10 - Spine-Unity.
User avatar
Pharan

Pharan
Posts: 4360

foriero

hi pharan, i always download latest runtime from git and reexport all our spine projects as binary. 3.6.39 At least we dont get hard crash. "only" all spine animations do not work. I feel like we need to find solution for that anyway in official apine runtime. We use NET 4.6 ( no il2cpp ) back end when exporting from unity. Can you guys please look at it and fix it?
foriero
Posts: 165

Pharan

I'll try to repro and report this bug to Unity Technologies. We'll have to wait.

Until then, you can replace the name of the parametered Update method on your end to see if that fixes it. Make sure you use the IDE so all the references are changed too. But make sure the original Update method name stays the same since, well, you know it's a Unity magic method.
Official Esoteric Assorted Furniture Cleaner and Teahouse | Check out the Spine Users Tumblr Blog: spine-users.tumblr.com
pharan.deviantart.com | pharantriestoanimatestuff.tumblr.com - - - Windows 10 - Spine-Unity.
User avatar
Pharan

Pharan
Posts: 4360

foriero

Were you able to repro?

-- 11 Sep 2017 3:28 am --

Hi Nate and Pharan,

I'm sorry to bother you but we need this fix. :-( Is it really Unity bug?

Marek.
foriero
Posts: 165

Pharan

It's a Unity bug.

Open SkeletonAnimation.cs

And look for this method:
void Update () {
Update(Time.deltaTime);
}
And add "public" so that you end up with this:
public void Update () {
Update(Time.deltaTime);
}
That should be enough to get UWP to work correctly.

(As you can see, it's a nonsense error. UWP gets confused while other platforms have no problem.)

-- 11 Sep 2017 3:53 pm --

Sent a bug report to Unity.

-- 12 Sep 2017 7:36 am --

Heard back from their bug report guys. They saw the bug, forwarded to their devs. Now we wait.
Official Esoteric Assorted Furniture Cleaner and Teahouse | Check out the Spine Users Tumblr Blog: spine-users.tumblr.com
pharan.deviantart.com | pharantriestoanimatestuff.tumblr.com - - - Windows 10 - Spine-Unity.
User avatar
Pharan

Pharan
Posts: 4360

foriero

Ok great. Thank you very much for time and effort. M.
foriero
Posts: 165


Return to Unity