Han

Hello everyone,

I'm a beginner who is using spine-webgl, and is cloning multiple spine animations like below :
var mySpineObjA_Children1 = new spine.Skeleton(skeletonA.data);
var mySpineObjA_Children2 = new spine.Skeleton(skeletonA.data);
For animation playing, it works fine in my project which has a few spine animations using the same skeleton data.

The problem is, I can not clear the view of a specific skeleton without affecting other skeletons.

I've searched for clearing methods and here's what I got :
gl.clear(mask)
which to be called once after a specific pair of skeleton and animation state has been removed from update().
But it causes an one-frame-disappear to other spine animations which has to be played as usual.
I thought it might because of gl.clear() clears actually all pixels drew by this gl renderer.

So I wonder if there's a normal way to remove a specific spine animation from my stage in a project using spine-webgl.

Thanks.
Han

badlogic

There's a difference between how the HTML DOM works and how WebGL works. With the DOM, if you remove an element, the DOM renderer will redraw everything else that's still in the DOM. In WebGL, if you call gl.clear(), the drawing surface (canvas) will be erased, and it is your responsibility to redraw the entire scene with the skeletons and other graphics you want to be displayed.

Usually with WebGL, you use requestAnimationFrame() to schedule a rendering operation every few milliseconds (depending on screen refresh rate and other factors), in which you draw the entire scene as you want it in that one frame. That rendering operation usually starts by clearing the canvas via gl.clear(), then proceeds to redraw everything you want on screen.
badlogic

Mario

Han