动画

创作动画是一个迭代的过程。在摄影表中可以设置每个动画关键帧的时间轴。在使用下列技术之前,建议先了解摄影表的使用方式。

想要成为一名优秀的动画师需要掌握许多的专业知识与技巧,本章节会介绍几个常用的技巧,如果想获得更多动画方面的知识,我们强力推荐您阅读由Richard Williams所著的The Animator's Survival Kit,如果想要快速游览动画的原理,可以阅读Wikipedia上的“十二条基本动画原理”或观看此视频系列

动画创作的方法

有许多创作方法可用于 Spine 设计动画。下面是一些最常见的方法。为了展现某些特定的动画效果,每位动画设计师需要斟酌使用哪些技巧来配合这些方法。

顺序法(Straight Ahead)

采用这种方法,在动画的创作的过程中,从开始至结束都是按照时间的先后顺序去设置每一帧的姿势。这种方法简单易懂,因此初学者常采用这种方法以便直观地创作动画。

顺序法的优点在于动作自然流畅,因为帧间的动作类似。缺点在于很容易偏离动画的最终效果,而且创作的时间也要比其他方法长。

顺序法的工作流程可以充分地发挥创造力。当角色沿着某种路径移动时,这种流程往往非常适合。

姿势法(Pose to Pose)

姿势法是创作动画的常用首选方法。采用这种方法,先设置动画最主要的几个姿势,不必过于考虑姿势关键帧的时间轴。 当一个动画的运动方式确定下来,再对其时间轴再进行调整,然后填充主要姿势之间的空缺。

这种方法是将重点放在动画最重要的部分。 只需很少的工作量,便可反映整个动画的运动轨迹,此时再对动画进行调整会显得更省事。 这种方法的难点在于填充主要姿势之间的空缺时,若调整得不够好会导致整个动画的运动轨迹显得不自然。

姿势法需要预先规划动画,这可节省时间,并将重点放在最重要的姿势上。 这种方法非常适合与其他工作流程结合使用。

使用姿势法在 Spine 中设计新建动画最简单的方法是,在 0 帧处创建第一个主要姿势,在 1 帧处创建第二个主要姿势,以此类推。直到最终确定所有姿势,可拖动关键帧来调整时间轴并在这些关键帧之间填充关键帧以润色动作。

使用姿势法创作动画,可在 播放视图 上勾选步进式。 这将关闭由系统为所有关键帧生成的渐变效果,意味着只会看到真实的关键帧姿势。

此视频提供了顺序法和姿势法之间的鲜明对比。

建议观看“十二条基本动画原理”视频系列的剩余部分。

分层法(staging)

分层法意味着在某个时间仅处理一些特定部分,隐藏其他部分。 在创作过程中会完成多次传递,直到对所有部分均已创建动画。

例如,可隐藏骨架的大多数附件,在第一次传递期间,将重点仅放在身体和四肢上。 而对于其他一些动画,也可以隐藏骨架的胳膊和腿,仅对臀部和躯干创建动画,然后再次对腿和胳膊创建动画。

通过分层法可屏蔽干扰,让动画设计师专注于骨架最重要的部分,这将引导剩余部分的实际动画效果。 与姿势法相比,分层法的难点在于需要深入了解身体运动机制,在创作的前期对动画的整体更改将显得比较困难,容易导致动画不见之间的动作中断。

当骨架中的大部分骨骼已设置好大多数动作时,这时使用分层法创作动画会有更好的效果。

结合法

这种方法就是多种技术的结合使用。 例如,首先使用姿势法规划主要姿势,然后对某一个部分采用分层法做细微得调整,并且在整个创作过程中使用顺序法迭代。这样有助于平衡逻辑规划与创意。

二阶运动(secondary action)

二阶运动,亦称为反作用,是作为对骨架主要运动的反应而生成的运动。 二阶运动会放大主要运动,并且让整个动画更为自然。

通常情况下,二阶运动略微延迟于主要运动,甚至会以反方向移动。 例如,头发或诸如鞘或披肩之类的物品通常会随着角色的运动而产生二阶运动。 如果这些物品作为主要运动以相同的方向移动,动画将变得机械和不真实。

二阶运动通常作为动画的最终润色。 如果很快完成,它会让动画的主要姿势编辑变得很困难。 通常顺序法适合创作二阶运动。

曲线

曲线可让动画设计师调整关键帧之间转换的速度。 当骨架的所有部分以恒定速度移动时,动作就显得机械、不够生动。 请参见 图表视图 了解更多信息。

视频

Bilibili

Bilibili

YouTube

YouTube

下一节: 附件 上一节: 关键帧

Animating

Animating is an iterative process. The dopesheet is used extensively while animating to visualize keys and adjust their timing. It is recommended to learn about how the dopesheet works before applying the techniques below.

Becoming a great animator is a complex subject and deserves much more space than can be given here. It is highly suggested to read The Animator's Survival Kit by Richard Williams. For a quicker and more brief overview, see the "12 basic principles of animation" on Wikipedia or this video series.

Workflow

There are many possible workflows for designing animations with Spine. Below are some of the most common approaches. Each individual animator needs to decide which combination of techniques work best for them and for a particular animation task.

Straight ahead

In this approach each frame is posed sequentially from the start to the end of the animation. This is straightforward and easy to understand so it is often how beginners intuitively approach animating.

Straight ahead has the benefit that the action flows naturally because the poses from frame to frame are similar. The drawbacks are that it is easy to lose focus of the animation's goals and that it takes longer to produce results than other approaches.

The straight ahead workflow can be very creative. It often works best when something is moving along a path rather than for posing.

Pose to pose

Pose to pose, also called "blocking", is traditionally the preferred method of beginning a new animation. It is done by first identifying the most important major poses of the animation without considering timing. Once these poses are finalized, the timing of the major poses can be adjusted and the movements between them filled in.

This approach focuses on the most important aspects of the animation first. The major poses show off the entire range of movement with a minimal amount of work and changes to the animation at this point are relatively inexpensive. The drawback is that such a logical approach can hinder the flow of the animation, causing it to appear choppy or unnatural.

Pose to pose involves planning the animation in advance, which saves time and directs focus to the most important poses. It often works best when combined with other workflows.

The easiest way to design a new animation in Spine using pose to pose is to create your first major pose on frame 0, the next major pose on frame 1, etc. Once the poses are finalized, the keys can be dragged to adjust the timing and keys added between them to fill in and polish the movements.

To use pose to pose on an existing animation, Stepped can be enabled on the playback view. This disables tweening for all keys, meaning that only the key poses will be seen.

This video provides a great comparison between straight ahead and pose to pose:

Be sure to check out the rest of the "12 basic principles of animation" video series.

Layered

The layered approach means to only work on a few specific parts at time, hiding the rest. Multiple passes are done over the animation until all the parts have been animated.

For example, it can be useful to hide most of the attachments for a skeleton and focus on just the body and limbs during the first pass. For some animations, it can help to hide a skeleton's arms and legs and only animate the hips and torso, then go over the animation again to animate the legs, and again to animate the arms.

Layered removes distractions and allows the animator to focus on the most important parts of the skeleton, which will then dictate how the rest of the parts are animated. The drawbacks are that it requires a deep understanding of body mechanics, does not have the flexibility of pose to pose for making early changes to the animation, and can result in disconnected movement between the parts that were animated separately.

Layered works well for animations where most of the movement is defined by a subset of the skeleton's parts.

Combined

It is often useful to combine the techniques. For example, first create major poses only for movements that must be in the animation (pose to pose), then go over the animation from start to finish (straight ahead) multiple times and animate only a subset of parts each time (layered). A combined approach can provide a balance of logical planning and creativity.

Secondary motion

Secondary motion, also called counteraction, is motion generated as a reaction to the primary motion of the skeleton. Secondary motion amplifies the primary motion and makes the entire animation feel more natural.

Often the secondary motion is slightly delayed from the primary motion or even moves in the opposite direction. For example, hair or items such as a scabbard or cape typically move or bounce as a result of the character moving. If these items move in the same direction as the primary motion, the animation will feel robotic and unrealistic.

Secondary motion is often done as the final polish for an animation. If done to soon, it can make editing the major poses of the animation difficult. Straight ahead is often a good approach to adding secondary motion.

Curves

Curves allow the animator to adjust the speed of a transition between keys. When all the parts of a skeleton are moving at a constant speed, the movement tends to be robotic and lifeless. See the graph view for more information.

Videos

Next: Attachments Previous: Key Frames