本页提供一个简单的概述,说明如何用 Spine 架设骨骼,创建动画。

Spine 不限于角色动画,但角色动画是最常见也是最好的例子。在 Spine 中角色使用 的不是一张完整的图片,而是将各个部分切片成一系列的小图。比如:头、躯干、胳膊和腿。 这些小图片被附加到骨骼上,然后用骨骼自由的设置角色动作。这些切片会随着骨骼运动而 产生流畅的动画。

装配模式 Setup Mode

使用 Spine 从装配模式开始,在此模式中创建骨骼,附加切片。在编辑区的左上角显 示着 Setup(装配)或 Animate(动画)来指示当前的模式,可以通过点击进行切换。

Setup Mode

切片 Images

层级树中的 Images 节点定义了 Spine 从哪里为你找到这副骨架要用的图片。图片的路 径 path 默认使用当前项目的相对路径。也支持绝对路径。设置完成后,路径下的图片会被加 载到图片 Images 节点中。

Images

Spine 实时监控图片所在路径,如果图片发生改变,立刻更新到项目中。

参考图片 Template Image

通过将一张完整的角色图片作为参考,能更简单准确的创建骨骼和放置图片。操作如 下:把 template 图片从 Images 节点拖到编辑区域,它会被附加到 root 骨骼点上。在层 级树底部的属性面板勾选背景 Background ,被设置成背景后它将不可选,也不会被输出。

Template

可以改变参考图片的颜色,这样更容易辨认。

角色切片 Character Images

在 Images 节点下,点选切片,然后 shift + 左键或 ctrl+左键把其它切片全部选中。 把它们拖放到编辑区,Spine 会为它们创建切片插槽 slots 并全部放在 root 骨骼点下。

Placement

对照参考图片把所有肢体切片对位。

Transforms

切片不是直接附加到骨骼上的,而是附加到一个切片插槽中,插槽再附加到骨骼上。一 个切片插槽中可以放置多个切片,但一次只能显示一个。切片插槽对复杂骨骼的绘制顺序提 供更多控制权限。

Slots

在层级树的 Draw Order 节点中拖拽改变绘制顺序。在列表上方的切片插槽会显示在 前面,而下方的插槽会显示在后面。你还可以用+或-号键来调整顺序,按住 Shift 可以一次 移动5个单位。

Draw Order before Draw Order after

当参考图用完后,可以点击层级树的中的显示点隐藏它。

Visibility

Photoshop

如果在使用 Photoshop,那架设骨骼时可以使用 Spine 提供的“LayersToPNG.jsx” PS 脚本。在 Spine 安装目录下的 scripts/photoshop/LayersToPNG.jsx 能找到。此脚本能 导出图层为 PNG 文件和 Spine 的 JSON 文件。点击 Spine 左上角的 Spine 标志,然后 Import Data, Skeleton。导入的骨架包含一个骨骼点和所有的图片,这些图片位置和显示绘制顺序 都和 PS 中的图层一至。留给你的工作就只有创建骨骼了。这在后面会介绍。

另一个提高工作效率的方案是使用 Adobe Generator . 它能让 PNG 文件与 PSD 同步, 妈妈再也不用担心我手动导图几万张图而发飙了。而 Spine 也是实时同步文件夹中的 PNG 的,这也就相当于 Spine 中的切片素材可以和 PSD 保持同步了。

创建骨骼 Creating Bones

使用创建 Create 工具,创建新骨骼时,首先要选中一个骨骼作为它的父级,然后再拖 拽创建出新骨骼。

当创建新骨骼时,按 shift(不用按住不放)选择光标下的图片。当拖出新骨骼后,被 选中的图片将会变成新骨骼的子物体。

Create Bone

使用这个功能来创建骨骼能更高效,因为你同时创建了新骨骼,并改变了图片的父级。

最后你可能要想改变某个骨头,插槽,图片或其它东西的父级。方法如下:选中要改变 父级的对象,按 P 键或 Set Parent 按钮,然后在层级树中选择新的父级。如果目前是骨骼 的话,比起在层级树中选,在编辑区域选可能更方便。

Set Parent

要改变骨骼的长度,选中任意一个变换工具 Rotate, Translate 或 Scale。然后拖动骨 骼的末端。另外骨骼长度也可以在层级树下方的属性面板中调整。如果骨骼长度为0,在编 辑区它将显示为一个特殊的图标。而在别的地方和其它骨骼没什么不同。

Change Length

骨骼可以在层级树底部的属性面板中设置颜色。这将便于区分各个不同的骨骼。

Bone Color

在 Compensation 面板中 Image 和 Bone 按钮用于调整骨骼但保持它的子物体,如附 加在它下面的骨骼和图片不受影响。

Compensate

别一个调整已经创建好的骨骼的方法,用 Create 工具选要调整的骨骼,按住 Alt 键, 然后点击拖拽。这样可以在新的位置重画骨骼,而不影响它的子物体。

动画模式 Animate Mode

点击编辑区左上角的 Setup 切换到动画模式。

Animate Mode

在动画模式下,层级树会显示动画 Animations 节点,其中包含所有可编辑和查看的 动画。

用骨骼摆出姿势,然后设置关键帧创建动画。当动画播放时,骨骼会自动在关键帧之间 添加中间帧以实现平滑的运动。

摄影表 Dopesheet

Dopesheet 按钮可以点击以展开摄影表,它提供更详细的关键帧视图。可以在摄影表 中拖动关键帧调整动画。

Dopesheet

设置关键帧 Setting Keyframes

通常第一个关键帧设置在0帧上。通过点击位移、缩放、旋转(Translate, Scale, and Rotate)工具后的关键帧图标,设置关键帧。绿色表示当前没关键帧,黄色表示值已经发 生变化,但是没有再次添加关键帧,红色表示已经添加关键帧。

No key Key set Key values changed

热键 K 可以为所有发生改变的值设置关键帧。 热键 L 可以为当前激活工具设置关键帧。 如果 AutoKey 按钮被按下,所有发生改变的值都会自动被设置关键帧。

接着,在时间轴上选到下一个位置,调整骨骼摆出姿势,添加关键帧。点击并拖动时间 线就能看到流畅的骨骼动画了。

Timeline

动画工作流程 Animation Workflow

常见的动画工作流程,先 K 出关键 pose 然后再回头细化润色动作。点击时间轴上方 的 Playback 按钮,在打开的面板中激活“步进 Stepped”按钮来实现关键 pose 预览。

Playback options Stepped mode

它能够禁用补间帧,从而更容易观察关键 pose。一旦所有大动作都创建完成,关闭 Stepped,添加更多 key 优化过度的效果。

曲线编辑器 Graph

曲线 Graph 按钮可以展开曲线编辑器。在摄影表中选择一个关键帧,这里会显示它与 下一帧之间的补间插值曲线。

Graph

通过点击贝塞尔 Bezier Curve 曲线图标,启动非线性插值,要想 K 出栩栩如生的动画 这是关键所在。

Bezier curve

在曲线编辑器中拖动 Bezier 手柄改变插值。X 轴代表当前帧到下一帧之间的时间,Y 轴代表值。

Bezier handles

Spine Quick Start

This page gives a brief overview of how to setup a skeleton in Spine and begin animating.

Spine is not limited to animating characters, but doing so is common and makes for a good example. Instead of using a single image for the whole character, a character in Spine is composed of a number of separate, smaller images. For example, there could be images for the head, torso, arms and legs. These images are attached to bones and the bones are then animated. The images move smoothly when the bones move, enabling the set of images that make up the character to be posed and animated in many ways.

Setup Mode

Using Spine begins in Setup Mode, where the bones are created and the images are attached. The upper left corner of the editor will show Setup or Animate to indicate the current mode and this is clickable to toggle between modes.

Setup Mode

Images

The Images node in the tree defines where Spine finds images for your skeleton. The images path is relative to where the project file is saved or can be an absolute path. Once the path is set, the images appear under the Images node.

Images

Spine watches the images directory and immediately reflects any changes to the image files.

Template Image

Positioning the individual images that make up a character can be made easier by importing an image of the fully assembled character and using it as a template to create the bones. To do this, drag your template image from under the Images node in the tree into the editor area, which attaches it to the root bone. Check Background for the template image in the properties underneath the tree, so it can't be selected and won't be exported.

Template

The template image's color can be changed to more easily distinguish between the template image and the rest of the images.

Character Images

Under the Images node, click an image then shift+click or ctrl+click another to select multiple. Drag these images into the editor area and Spine adds slots for them all under root bone.

Placement

Adjust each image using the Translate and Rotate tools so they match the template image.

Transforms

Images are not attached to a bone directly, instead they are attached to a slot which is attached to a bone. A slot may have many images attached, but only one can be visible at a time. Slots are for organization and allow for more control over the draw order for complex skeletons.

Slots

Drag the slots under the Draw Order node in the tree to change the draw order. Slots higher in the list are drawn on top of those lower in the list. You may also use the plus (+) or minus (-) keys on your keyboard to change the draw order of the selected image. Hold shift to jump by 5.

Draw Order before Draw Order after

When it is no longer needed, the template image can be hidden by clicking the visibility dot in the tree.

Visibility

Photoshop, Gimp

If using Photoshop or Gimp, setting up a skeleton may be simplified with Spine's Photoshop or Gimp script which can be found in the Spine installation directory. The very latest scripts can also be found here. The scripts export layers as PNG files and create a JSON file in Spine's format. Import this JSON by clicking the Spine logo in the upper left, then Import Data, Skeleton. The imported skeleton will have one bone and all the images attached with the correct position and draw order. All that is left for you to do is create the bones, which is described below.

Another productivity tip for Photoshop is to use Adobe Generator. After using Spine's Photoshop script initially, Adobe Generator will keeps the PNG files in sync with the PSD so you never have to do an explicit export step. Since Spine watches the image files and immediately reloads them when they change, this means the images in Spine are kept in sync with the PSD.

Creating Bones

Use the Create tool to create new bones. First select the bone that will be the parent of the new bone, then click and drag to create a bone.

While dragging the new bone, press shift (it doesn't need to be held) to select the image under the mouse. When dragging the new bone ends by releasing the mouse button, the selected image will be parented under the new bone.

Create Bone

Using shift with the Create tool is very efficient because you both draw a new bone and change the image parent at the same time.

Later you may need to change the parent of a bone, slot, image or other item. To do that, select the item, press P or click the Set Parent button, then click the new parent in the tree. If choosing a bone to be the parent, you may click the bone in the editor area rather than the tree.

Set Parent

To change the length of a bone, choose the Rotate, Translate or Scale tool, then click and drag the tip of the bone. The length can also be changed in the bone's properties under the tree. If the length is zero, the bone will appear with a different icon in the editor area but is otherwise exactly the same as any other bone.

Change Length

Bones can be given a color in the bone's properties under the tree. This can make it easier to differentiate between bones.

Bone Color

The Image and Bone buttons under the Compensation section of the toolbar are useful for adjusting bones without affecting attached images or child bones.

Compensate

Another way to adjust an existing bone is choose the Create tool, select the bone to adjust, then click and drag while holding alt. This will redraw the selected bone without affecting attached images or child bones.

Animate Mode

Click the Setup text in the upper left corner of the editor to switch to Animate Mode.

Animate Mode

The animation visible under the Animations node in the tree is the animation that will play and be edited in Animate Mode.

Animation is done by posing the skeleton and setting keyframes. When the animation is played, the bones are automatically interpolated between keyframes to achieve smooth movement.

Dopesheet

The Dopesheet button expands the dopesheet, which provides an overview of the keyframes. Keys can be dragged to easily tweak and retime the animation.

Dopesheet

Setting Keyframes

Typically keyframes are set at frame zero. This is the starting position of the animation. To set a keyframe, click the key icon next to the Translate, Scale, and Rotate tools. A green key means no key is set, yellow means values have been edited but not yet keyed, and red means a key is set.

No key Key set Key values changed

As a shortcut, pressing K will set a keyframe for all edited values, while pressing L will key the values for the currently active tool. If the Auto Key button is pressed, a key is created automatically whenever a keyable change is made.

Next, click the timeline to jump to a later frame, pose the skeleton, and set keyframes. Click and drag in the timeline to see the skeleton animate smoothly.

Timeline

Animation Workflow

The typical workflow for building an animation is to first rough out the major poses, then come back and refine the movements. One way to do this is to click the Playback button, then click the Stepped button.

Playback options Stepped mode

Stepped disables interpolation between keys, making it easier to see the major poses. Once all of the large movements have been created, Stepped can be disabled and more keys added to refine the interpolation between major poses.

Graph

The Graph button expands the graph, which shows the interpolation between the selected key in the dopesheet and the next key.

Graph

Non-linear interpolation is key to life-like animation and can be used by clicking the Bezier Curve icon.

Bezier curve

Drag the handles in the graph to control the interpolation. The X axis represents the time from the selected key to the next key. The Y axis represents the change in value from the selected key to the next key.

Bezier handles